Artistic License

September 25, 2009

Character Sheet: Michael

Filed under: Character Sheets — Joana @ 6:59 pm

Part 1: The Basics

What is your full name?

Michael Black

Where and when were you born?

June 30th, Penobscot Valley Hospital

Who are/were your parents?  (Know their names, occupations, etc)

I live with my mother Emily, who’s a real-estate agent.

Do you have any siblings?  What are/were they like?

My twin sister Miranda, who apparently got the enthusiasm gene, and my six-year-old sister Stacey

Where do you live now, and with whom?  Describe the place and the person/people.

During the school year I’m at Clearbell Academy living in the dorms, and during holidays I’m at home with my mother and two sister.

What is your occupation?

I’m a student right now, no job.

Write a full physical description of yourself.  You might want to consider factors such as: height, weight, race, hair and eye color, style of dress, and any tattoos, scars, or distinguishing marks.

I’m about 5’6, brown eyes, black hair.  I have a good amount of Native American in me but the only thing I really have to show for it is my darkish skin.  I like to keep my hair kind of long, like long enough for a ponytail.  I usually just dress in whatever I find comfortable.

 To which social class do you belong?

Middle class, probably

Do you have any allergies, diseases, or other physical weaknesses?

Nope

Are you right- or left-handed?

Left

What does your voice sound like?

I dunno, average?  Kinda quiet.  I don’t talk an incredible amount.

What words and/or phrases do you use very frequently?

As I said, I don’t talk a lot so…

What do you have in your pockets?

A couple DS game cards

Do you have any quirks, strange mannerisms, annoying habits, or other defining characteristics?

Well, Cameron thinks it’s strange that I don’t talk nearly as much as him.

 

Part 2: Growing Up

How would you describe your childhood in general?

Average I guess.

What is your earliest memory?

Something involving a swing set and Miranda

How much schooling have you had?

I’m a junior in high school right now.

Did you enjoy school?

Yes

Where did you learn most of your skills and other abilities?

School.  My family didn’t really have a lot to contribute with that.

While growing up, did you have any role models?  If so, describe them.

I used to want to be like my dad, but not so much after the divorce.

While growing up, how did you get along with the other members of your family?

It was okay.  Mom was stricter than dad, Miranda was determined to publicly embarrass me every chance she got.  Nothing out of the ordinary.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I don’t think I had a specific idea, I just wanted to get away.

 As a child, what were your favorite activities?

Reading and proving to Miranda that I am better at video games than her.  She unplugged the NES one time when I was about to defeat the first Super Mario Bros game since she hadn’t gotten that far yet.

As a child, what kinds of personality traits did you display?

I was actually really vocal when I was younger.  Before the divorce Miranda and I just kind of fed off each other’s energy.

As a child, were you popular?  Who were your friends, and what were they like?

Not really popular, although Miranda would beg to differ.  I had a few friends; ones that could put up with me.

When and with whom was your first kiss?

Natalie; I went out with her for a while in eighth grade, but we broke up when I found out I’d be going to Clearbell instead of the local high school.

Are you a virgin?  If not, when and with whom did you lose your virginity?

Yeah I am.

 

Part 3: Past Influences

 What do you consider the most important event of your life so far?

Meeting Cameron

Who has had the most influence on you?

Definitely Cameron.  I was depressed as hell my first year at Clearbell and I think he snapped me out of it.  Mostly.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Finally getting away

What is your greatest regret?

That I thought I wanted to be like my father.

Do you have a criminal record of any kind?

No

When was the time you were the most frightened?

When my mom went into labor with my little sister, Stacey.  Miranda and I were the only kids until Stacey, so I had no clue what was going on.

What is the most embarrassing thing ever to happen to you?

I fell down the bleacher steps during a school assembly, and of course everyone in school was in there.

If you could change one thing from your past, what would it be, and why?

Nothing; I don’t think it’d make a big enough difference.

 

Part 4: Beliefs And Opinions

Are you basically optimistic or pessimistic?

More realistic, I think.

What is your greatest fear?

Failure

What are your religious views?

I never went to church as a child so… I don’t have any, I guess.

What are your political views?

I try to stay out of politics when I can.

What are your views on sex?

It’d be nice to have some, but Cameron seems to have some kind of problem with it.

Are you able to kill?

No

 Do you believe in the existence of soul mates and/or true love?

I think so

What do you believe makes a successful life?

Being able to earn the money you need to live how you want.

How honest are you about your thoughts and feelings (i.e. do you hide your true self from others, and in what way)?

I used to ‘wear my heart on my sleeve’ as Mom would put it.  I don’t talk a lot now, though, which some people seem to think means I’m depressed.  I’m not anymore, though.

Do you have any biases or prejudices?

Not really

Is there anything you absolutely refuse to do under any circumstances?  Why do you refuse to do it?

 I’d hate to live in a huge city because of how easily someone can lose themselves in that huge number of people.  I like to be an individual, thanks.  Plus it would be way too noisy for my taste.

 

 

Part 5: Relationships With Others 

In general, how do you treat others (politely, rudely, by keeping them at a distance, etc.)?  Does your treatment of them change depending on how well you know them, and if so, how?

I don’t make an effort to talk to new people, but Miranda seems to think it’s her job to make sure I do, anyway.

 Who is the most important person in your life?

Probably a tie between Miranda and Cameron

Who is the person you respect the most, and why?

My mother, for putting up with all the crap so long.

Who are your friends?  Do you have a best friend?  Describe these people.

My best friend is a girl named Misty; she grew up with me and ended up going to Clearbell in the writing program.  She’s a little eccentric but good for advice.  There’s Cameron too, of course.  I think he’s the only person that can make me laugh; even Miranda kind of fails at it these days.  There’s Shawn (one of the photography/journalism kids) that I met the first day of junior year.  He’s really awkward but Cameron seems to like him so he’s around a lot now.

Do you have a spouse or significant other?

My boyfriend, Cameron.

Have you ever been in love?  If so, describe what happened.

Miranda says I am, and apparently Miranda is in charge of my emotions so it must be true.  Sigh.

What do you look for in a potential lover?

Someone who doesn’t mind doing the talking and just lets me listen.

How close are you to your family?

Fairly close to everyone except my father.

Have you started your own family?  If so, describe them.  If not, do you want to?  Why or why not?

No I haven’t, and I’m not sure I’d want to.

Who would you turn to if you were in desperate need of help?

Probably Misty

If you died or went missing, who would miss you?

Quite a few people, or at least that’s what I’d like to believe.

Who is the person you despise the most?

My father, for causing all those problems for us.

Do you tend to argue with people, or avoid conflict?

I kind of just sit off to the side and let Miranda handle it.  Or Misty, or Cameron.

Do you tend to take on leadership roles in social situations?

Nope

Do you like interacting with large groups of people?  Why or why not?

I can be in large groups of people, but I don’t usually interact with them.

Do you care what others think of you?

Not anymore.

 

Part 6: Likes And Dislikes

What is/are your favorite hobbies and pastimes?

Reading, playing video games.  Cameron seems to think my favorite pastime is doing homework, but that’s only when I’m doing it and he wants to go out.

What is your favorite color?

Blue

 What is your favorite food?

Most kinds of chicken

What, if anything, do you like to read?

Anything I can get my hands on

What is your idea of good entertainment (consider music, movies, art, etc.)?

My friends provide any entertainment I might need.

Do you smoke, drink, or use drugs?  If so, why?  Do you want to quit?

I don’t do any of those

How do you spend a typical Saturday night?

That’s usually when I go out with Cameron; I do any homework I have for the weekend on Friday.

What makes you laugh?

It varies

What, if anything, shocks or offends you?

Complete disregard for the feelings of others

What would you do if you had insomnia and had to find something to do to amuse yourself?

Probably just sit in bed, knowing I’d go to sleep eventually

How do you deal with stress?

Mope around, usually.  I’ll get sick if it’s a huge amount of stress, though.

Are you spontaneous, or do you always need to have a plan?

Plans are good

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

