Artistic License

November 1, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 1’st

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 6:56 pm

“Hey Mike, you think you could figure out the chemical formula for this pudding?” I asked out of curiosity, holding a spoon of it up for demonstration. Michael glanced at me, but he didn’t give me that ‘are you crazy?’ look that I expected.

“No, and I’m not sure I’d want to,” he said. I frowned at that, staring at the chocolate pudding. I wasn’t sure I wanted it anymore, when he put it that way. “Now would you stop messing around with my food and get your own please?”

“But it’s so fun to mess with your food!” I complained. Michael rolled his eyes and took the spoon away from me gently.

“Cameron, please refrain from making you go to bed without supper,” he said, sounding completely serious.

“Michael, please refrain from leading Cameron to ask if you’re his mother,” Misty said, suddenly snapping her notebook shut. Miranda had put her headphones on when it became clear that she wasn’t part of the conversation anymore, but when she heard this, I just knew she couldn’t resist taking her headphones off.

“I’m sorry, what?” she asked. “Because if what I just heard was a ‘your mom’ joke, I’m going to have to remind you that Michael and I have the same mother.”

“Miranda, that principle only applies if Misty did, too,” Michael said, poking at the chemically-unknown pudding with his spoon. Miranda stuck her tongue out and went back to eating and her music.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

