Artistic License

November 5, 2009

Novel excerpt- November 5’th

Filed under: Uncategorized — Joana @ 7:39 pm

Apparently Jamie wasn’t going to let his grudge go. Devin had been getting embarrassed over Sarah any time I happened to see them pass by each other, which was admittedly a lot. Sarah was still trying to get Allen to like her, which didn’t seem to be working, which of course just made her more determined. For me, that meant she passed by my door a lot and actually looked at me when we passed by in the cafeteria. For Allen this meant that if he wanted to go for another girl he would have to look around first to make sure Sarah wasn’t there. For Devin that meant that whenever he happened to try to talk to me for… whatever reason he seemed to think of, there was a seventy-five percent chance that Sarah was there.

And you know. Despite the fact that Jamie was mad at him, there was also a high chance that if Devin was there, Jamie was there, too. Did Jamie even have any other friends?

It would make me sad thinking that if I also didn’t have many friends.

“Jamie, are you going to be okay?” I asked. He had apparently decided that he wanted to sit with us at lunch on Monday and was sending death glares in the general direction of Devin, who had gotten in the lunch line behind Sarah. I wasn’t sure if that was on purpose or not, but it was certainly making Jamie mad.

“Huh?” Jamie asked, managing to peel his eyes away from Devin. When he realized what I had asked of him, he nodded. “Yeah, I’m fine.”

“Liar!” Misty said, pointing her fork at him. Jamie frowned at her, and she seemed to forget the thought and went back to her food.

I am surrounded by very intelligent people. If I keep saying that maybe it will become true.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

