Artistic License

November 6, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 6’th

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 8:00 pm

“Hello, boys!” Miranda called as she ran over. Apparently she was done with the choreography for right then. The people that she had been teaching it to had dispersed; some were on the stage practicing a scene and some had disappeared, either out into the hall or backstage. I was hoping that most if not all of them had gone backstage. I really wanted Devin and Jamie to be able to talk without someone interrupting them. They just really needed it at this point, it seemed. If there was anything I could do beyond encourage them to talk, I would. But I had a feeling that they wouldn’t like it if I helped too much. Just a hunch.

“Hello, Miranda,” Michael said, putting his sewing aside again. “What in the world brings you here?” Miranda stuck her tongue out.

“It’s not like I’m jumping in on you when you two are making out or anything,” she said. “Which, by the way, is really gross to do. I mean you’re my brother! Ew.” Michael gave her a look, and she gave him one right back. “Anyway. Apparently they don’t need me anymore today because they’re going to practice scenes without choreography. So how’s about we all go out to eat. My treat?” Michael blinked a couple times, seeming confused. I couldn’t really blame him, considering Miranda had never offered to pay for anything, even when she was the one that suggest we go out to a movie or something. “What?”

“Are you feeling sick or something?” Michael asked, standing up. He walked over to his sister and put his hand on her forehead. Miranda scowled at him and slapped it away.

“I’m not sick, Michael,” she said. “I just happen to be in a good mood since practice went so well today. Is that a bad thing?” Michael shook his head. He went back over to the fabric and gathered everything up into his arms.

“Yes.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

