Artistic License

November 8, 2009

Novel Excerpt November 7’th

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 1:13 am

Um, okay, so it’s not actually November 7’th for me anymore, but I had a… really bad day.  So just pretend it is, okay?  Enjoy.

 

“Oh ew,” she said. I rose my eyebrows at her again. “What? You were never interested in sex when we were together.” I cleared my throat at that, looking down the hallway.

“Uh, can I tell you something?” I said. I looked back down to Sarah. She was staring up at me like she was dreading what I had to say. “Um…” She continued staring at me. “Well… I guess I wasn’t interested in sex because I thought I might be gay for a lot of the time we were together.” Sarah narrowed her eyes at that, trying to comprehend what I had just told her.

“You went out with me for a good year when you thought you were gay?” she asked. I shrugged and nodded. “You… you know what? I don’t care. It’s not like you were cheating on me with a guy or anything.” She laughed at that and stood up. I laughed, too, trying not to sound too pathetic about it. “Um, anyway. Thanks for talking with me, Cameron. Even though it was kind of one-sided. By the way, you plan on keeping coming to the musical practices?” I shrugged.

“Miranda will probably drag me over one way or another,” I said. Sarah kind of smiled at that.

“Miranda really seems to like you, actually,” she said. “Are you sure she isn’t after you, too?” Sarah said it in a joking way, and I rolled my eyes.

“Honestly? Miranda’s never even considered me, apparently,” I said. “Apparently she’s never gone out with a guy since she came to Clearbell. I really have to ask her if she’s a lesbian or not.” Sarah rose her eyebrows.

“Um, it was a joke, but okay,” she said. I grinned.

“Yes, you made a joke, but I told the truth,” I said. “Not like you should feel threatened or anything, considering you don’t like girls.” Sarah started laughing at that, but I recognized that kind of laugh. I had laughed like that just a few moments ago when she had said I hadn’t cheated on her when we were together. “…Sarah, you don’t like girls, do you?” Sarah rapidly shook her head, holding her hands up in defense.

“No Cameron, I don’t,” she said. “I just think it would be funny if we both turned out gay. Wouldn’t you find that funny?” I narrowed my eyes at her, and she put her hands back down.

“No, Sarah, I would not find that funny,” I said. “In fact, I would find that incredibly sad, and I would wonder if you suspected you liked girls the entire time we were going out. And I would have to ask you about it, and then the conversation would get really awkward.”

Sarah just stood there for a while, staring at me. I stared right back at her.

“You like Miranda, don’t you?” I said. Sarah let her head fall down between her knees, and she sighed dramatically.

“Yes, Cameron, I like Miranda,” she said.

1 Comment »

  1. OHSHIT.
    I didn’t expect that o.o

    Comment by Alice — November 9, 2009 @ 12:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

