Artistic License

November 8, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 8’th

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 10:34 pm

“Cameron? Are you in there?”

Michael tried to pull away when he heard my mother’s voice, but I wasn’t letting him. I had seen Carter lock the door and I was trying to avoid my mother anyway, so why should the fact that she was a lot smarter about finding me than I thought she would be have an effect on me having a little fun?

“Cameron,” Michael hissed as I let my hands go lower. They were around his waist now, which was still a safe spot as far as I could tell.

“What?” I asked, pulling away just enough so I could talk. “They expect us to anyway, and the door’s locked. It’s not like my mom’s going to figure out a way to just barge in here.”

Before I could do anything, Michael had pushed me away from him and was shoving me towards his closet. Once I was securely inside, he shut the door and I could hear the click of the lock.

“This is just cruel and a really bad pun!” I shouted.

“Quiet!” Michael hissed. He stepped away from the door at that, and I could hear him heading for the room door.

“Um, is there a reason you’re banging on my door, Mrs. Nile?” I could hear Michael ask after opening it.

“You know very well why I’m here,” my mother said. “I came here to see my son and I know that he’s here with you. Where else would he run off to?”

“Um, the circus?” Michael asked. I had hold back a snicker at that; my mother was right in the room now and was probably able to hear me if I wasn’t careful. “Mrs. Nile, I know that you’re just concerned about what your son is doing with his life, but I swear he’s not here. If you remember, he’s the one that has the bad ideas, not the other way around.” There was silence for a while, and I managed to peak through a small crack in the hinge. My mother was standing right there, apparently having barged into the room.

“Um, and you know, if you don’t get out of my room I’m calling school security,” Michael added. “You have no good reason to be here harassing me, Mrs. Nile.”

“I have plenty of good reasons,” my mother said, narrowing her eyes. “But fine. I’m sure I can find him somewhere else.” And then she left without another word.

As soon as the door was closed and locked again, Michael let me out.

“I don’t think I like being trapped in the closet,” I said, frowning. Michael snorted.

“Why? You did it for a lot of freshman year, from your stories,” he said. I stuck my tongue out at him.

“Hah. Hah.”

1 Comment »

  1. I enjoy closet puns : D

    Comment by Alice — November 9, 2009 @ 12:19 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

