Artistic License

November 12, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 12’th

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 10:25 pm

“Is she serious?” Devin asked when Miranda had left.

“What, about you being a liar? Probably,” I said. “But if you weren’t, why would it bother you?” Devin shook his head, standing up from his stool.

“I’m not,” he said. “Even if I did have feelings for Jamie, why I be worried about what Miranda has to say about it? I don’t even know her that well.”

“You don’t know me that well either, and yet you came to me first when you were worried about Jamie,” I said. Michael turned to Devin and rose his eyebrows, and Devin shrugged.

“We’re not that far into the school year, so it’s not like Jamie or me have really made anymore friends,” he said, averting his eyes. “Besides, I know Jamie’s been spending a lot of time with you lately, so I thought you might know what was up.” I shook my head and went back to painting. Apparently I wasn’t going to get through to him right now, and I was fine with that. Getting Jamie away from Jean before something bad could happen mattered more right now, anyway.

“Well, you may not know us that well, but I do know something about you,” Michael said. He was obviously talking to Devin, but he wouldn’t take his eyes off me, like he thought that was safer or something. Admittedly, maybe it was. Devin might have exploded at any point if we kept pushing him.

Of course that didn’t mean we were going to stop.

“And what do you know about me?” Devin asked, raising his eyebrows. Michael shrugged.

“I know you’re so far in the closet you’re exploring Narnia.”

1 Comment »

  1. TUH. TUH. TUH.
    closet jokes are fun 😀

    Comment by Alice — November 13, 2009 @ 3:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

