Artistic License

November 14, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 14’th

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 9:58 pm

“Nothing that you two weren’t around to hear,” I said. “He wasn’t even acting like this until he got here. He seemed really… enthusiastic about coming along.” Miranda shook her head and stood up, taking the opportunity to adjust her bikini top. Michael was probably used to it and managed to ignore her, but I couldn’t help but wince.

“Geeze, Miranda, could you have gotten a skimpier bathing suit?” Michael asked. He still hadn’t looked at her but apparently knew what she was doing. Now that is talent. Miranda stuck her tongue out, then seemed to realize I was gaping at her. “I think you put him into shock, Miranda. Thanks a lot.”

“Oh please. Just kiss the guy and he’ll be fine,” Miranda said. She walked out of my line of vision, and I didn’t care to turn my head enough so that I could see where she was going. Michael waved his hand in front of my face, and I blinked a few times.

“Uh, I’m okay,” I said, rapidly shaking my head. Michael rolled his eyes and pushed me on the shoulder.

“Could you not gape at my sister, please?” he asked. “I might start to question your sexuality.”

“Pft. You don’t need to do that. She just put me into shock with her blatant disregard for social etiquette when it comes to skimpy bathing suits,” I said. Michael rose an eyebrow at me, and I pulled him against my side. “Michael, has there ever been a time when you were seriously able to think I was straight?”

“Well-”

“I mean while we’ve been going out,” I interrupted before he could say anything. Of course there were times when he thought I was straight, but that was a couple years ago when I was still going out with Sarah.

“No, Cameron, there hasn’t been a time when we were going out that I’ve thought you were straight,” Michael said, rolling his eyes and pulling away from me. “You give me more than enough evidence against that.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

