Artistic License

November 15, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 15’th

Filed under: Novel excerpts — Joana @ 9:49 pm

"It’s so boring," Michael muttered, shifting around so that he was laying on his back. "I have no idea what to do with the power out and them not letting us go anywhere." I shrugged.

"Well honestly, I could suggest a few things, but I doubt you’d like them," I said. Michael opened his eyes again and looked at me like I was crazy.

"I’m not going up to your room for that, Cameron," he said. I rose my eyebrows. I knew what he meant, but I still felt like playing.

"What, you want to stay down here? Because I’m sure you know I have no problem with exhibitionism," I said. Michael took the pillow that he had been laying his head on and threw it at me. "Ow! Always with the violence!"

“Well maybe you deserve a smack every now and then to keep you in line,” Michael muttered, laying his head back down so he could stare at the ceiling.

“Ooh, dom/sub relationship?” I asked. Michael’s eyes went wide as he looked up at me.

“What the…” he said, and I just shrugged.

“I heard Misty saying something about it,” I said. “Not in reference to us, just in general. That girl is weird.” Michael shook his head and laid it back down on the arm of the couch.

“No, Cameron, I’m not going to assert my dominance over you like that,” he said. “I can honestly tell you I had no idea you were even into that kind of thing.”

“I’m not,” I said, sticking my tongue out. “Although it doesn’t seem like that bad of an idea. What do you say to trying it sometime?”

“We’d have to start actually having sex for us to try that, Cameron,” Michael said, putting an arm over his eyes after closing them. He looked utterly tired, though whether it was in general or because of our conversation, I wouldn’t be able to tell you. “And I know how you feel about having sex.”

“Yeah, yeah,” I muttered, pushing his feet away from me. Being around him suddenly didn’t seem like such a good idea if he was going to bring this up again. Michael didn’t even protest me leaving him, although considering he seemed to be trying to go to sleep, he may not have even noticed.

“Is something wrong?” Shawn asked when I sat back down beside him. I glanced over to Michael, who was dead to the world as far as I could tell. I knew that he was a heavy sleeper and he could fall asleep pretty fast, but I didn’t know he could get there that fast.

“Ah, just… the same old sore spots,” I said, bring my eyes away from Michael and over to Shawn. Shawn rose his eyebrows, looking surprised.

“I thought you two never fought,” he said. I nodded, leaning back into the couch.

“We don’t… usually,” I said. “But there are some things that we don’t agree on and it’s kind of hard not to bring them up.”

“Like what?” Shawn asked, actually sounding interested. Well, considering he seemed to think that Michael and I were the perfect couple, I couldn’t blame him for being surprised.

“Sex, among other things,” I said. I was close enough to Shawn to see that his face had gone a shade of bright red, and I regretted bringing it up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

