Artistic License

November 19, 2009

Novel Excerpt- November 19’th

Filed under: Uncategorized — Joana @ 9:36 pm

"Hello, Natalie," Michael said quietly. Natalie rose her eyebrows at him like she was rather surprised by this reaction.

"Michael, are you sick? Where’d your voice go?" she asked. Michael shook his head and turned back to look at me.

"I’m not sick, Natalie," he said. Natalie frowned at that and seemed to think about something.

"Hmm. I knew you changed after your parents’ divorce, but I didn’t know you lost the ability to speak," she said with a smile. It wasn’t as big as that grin she had been giving him as soon as she had stepped into the room, and it actually seemed more genuine.

"I didn’t lose my ability to speak, I just learned some self-control," Michael said. "One of us had to, and we both know it wasn’t going to be Miranda." Natalie nodded her agreement, and then she turned, finally seeming to notice me.

"Ah, who’s your friend? I don’t think Miranda mentioned him when she asked me to come visit," she said. I kind of glanced up at her before picking my charcoal stick back up and going back to my drawing. It was probably a third of the way done, actually, but I still had a lot of minor details I had to put in before I was ready to start painting it. As I was drawing I kept to myself. I knew that if Michael wanted to tell Natalie about us, it was going to be on his own terms. He would hate me forever if I did something like tell his ex-girlfriend that he was gay, even if it was her that broke up with him instead of the other way around.

"This is Cameron," Michael said. "He’s in the visual arts department, in case you couldn’t tell from the fact that he seems to think that drawing is more important than introducing himself." I rose my eyebrows and put my charcoal stick back down.

"What? I was just leaving my introduction up to your discretion," I said. Michael rolled his eyes and turned back to Natalie, who looked just a bit confused.

“I’m glad to see you again, but there’s not really much for you to do around here,” he said. Natalie smiled at that.

“Miranda said we’d all go out and see a movie, actually,” she said. “She said your friend could come to, apparently.” She looked over at me again like she wasn’t sure how to deal with me. Geeze, she didn’t even know I was gay yet. Paranoid much?

“Ooh, invited along to a movie with Michael. My dream has come true,” I said, grinning as I started to put away my stuff. Natalie was heading for the door and she kind of looked between us, seeming more confused than anything.

“I’ll be outside. Miranda said she’d wait for us,” Natalie finally said.

Once she was gone, Michael spun around on his stool so he was facing me.

“Geeze, Cameron, you think you could be a little less subtle?” he asked. I smiled as I put under my arm. I had considered just leaving it in there, but I felt weary, even though there really wasn’t an issue with vandalism at the school. Better to be safe than sorry, yeah?

“Of course I could. I was holding back for your benefit.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

